The Fountain of the Frogs (Fontana delle Rane) is located in the Piazza Mincio in the Coppedé neighborhood of Rome. It is designed by Gino Coppedé, who was responsible for the entire whimsical neighbourhood.
Fountain of the Frogs Rome
History and description
The Fountain of the Frogs was constructed in 1924 and is thus one of Rome’s more recently built fountains. The architect is the man who designed the entire quarter, Gino Coppedé, who meant the fountain to be a sort of homage to Bernini‘s fountains.
The fountain consists of a low, circular basin, with four couples of frogs holding shells. In the centre of the fountain a higher basin can be seen with eight more frogs.
The most stunning aspect of the fountain is its location. It forms the central part of a small roundabout, which is surrounded by a number of fairy-tale like buildings.