Lungarno Corsini Florence

The Lungarno Corsini in Florence is one stretch of the road that runs along the northern bank of the river Arno. It is one of the most picturesque parts and leads from the Ponte Santa Trinità to the Ponte alla Carraia. The most striking building along the street is the Palazzo Corsini al Parione.

Lungarno Corsini Florence

It is the Palazzo Corsini al Parione that gave its name to the street. The most unusual aspect of this building is the presence of statues on its rooftop. The palazzo is still owned by the Corsini family. The Galleria Corsini, with 16th to 18th century art, can be visited by appointment.

The Palazzo Gianfigliazzi (n. 1), now the seat of an estate agency, was constructed by the Ruggerini family in the 13th century. The Gianfigliazzi acquired it in the 15th century. After a reconstruction by Gherardo Silvani in 1853, it became property of the Masetti family.

The building on no. 4 is also called Palazzo Gianfigliazzi. It is named after the family that, until the end of the 18th century, used to live in it. The palazzo was bought by Luigi Bonaparte in 1825, to be turned into a hotel two years later. The writer Alessandro Manzoni used to live here.

Lungarno Corsini Florence

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.