Marche travel guide

Le Marche is a region along the coast of the Adriatic Sea. The region borders Emilia-Romagna to the north and Abruzzo to the south. Most of the western border runs along the region of Umbria. The capital of the Marches is Ancona. The region consists of five provinces, namely Ancona, Ascoli Piceno, Fermo, Macerata and Pesaro/Urbino.

Marche travel guide

The capital Ancona

Palazzo del Governo Ancona
Palazzo del Governo, Ancona

Ancona is one of the largest and most important ports on the Adriatic coast and has just over 100 thousand inhabitants. The city already existed in Roman times. Despite the damage done during World War II and the 1972 earthquake, there is much to see. There are several ruins from Roman times as well as a number of churches and other historical buildings from later centuries.

Province of Ancona

The province of Ancona has almost half a million inhabitants and consists of 47 municipalities. The capital is Ancona itself. The most famous coastal towns are Senigallia, Portonovo and Mezzavalle. The so-called Riviera del Conero is famous for its natural beauty. The province’s most important tourist attraction is the Santa Maria della Casa Basilica in Loreto, one of the most important pilgrimage sites in Italy. The other larger cities are Jesi, Osimo and Fabriano.

Province of Ascoli Piceno

Ascoli Piceno, the capital of the province of the same name, is one of the most beautiful small towns in Italy. It is the southernmost province of the region, with an inland area consisting of 60% hilly and mountainous landscapes. The most famous coastal towns are San Benedetto del Tronto, Grottammare and Cupra Marittima. Many of the inland hill towns are characterized by a small, but very picturesque historical center.

Province of Fermo

The province of Fermo features a small coastal strip and is further sandwiched between the provinces of Macerata (north side) and Ascoli Piceno (south side). With less than 200 thousand inhabitants, it is one of the smallest provinces in Italy. The largest city and also capital of the province is Fermo itself. The interior of the province is characterized by a hilly and even mountainous landscape. The province consists of 40 municipalities.

Province of Macerata

The province of Macerata is the largest in terms of surface area. The capital is also called Macerata and is a well-known university town. This province also consists largely of hilly and mountainous landscapes. The most famous coastal city is Civitanova Marche. Among the other cities, Camerino, Recanati and Tolentino are the best known attractions. In total, the province consists of 55 municipalities.

Pesaro and Urbino

The province of Pesaro and Urbino is the northernmost province of the region. Although all the main administrative offices are located in Pesaro, Urbino is also the capital of the province. Like the rest of the region, most of the province is very hilly. The interior is also characterized by wooded areas. Pesaro and Fano are the largest cities, but Urbino has by far the most famous sights. The total number of municipalities is 59.


Le Marche is sometimes translated as “the Marches”.

Marche region