The Oratory of the Brotherhood of the Most Holy Trinity (Confraternita della Santissima Trinità) is a church on Via Maria Giustiniani in Bassano Romano. The church is located in an extremely picturesque spot, at the end of a lane flanked by cypresses.
Oratory of the Brotherhood of the Most Holy Trinity Bassano Romano
Address: Via Maria Giustiniani, snc – Bassano Romano. Phone: +39 . Opening times: . Ticket price: . (Note that prices and times may be subject to change.)
History and description
The interior of the Oratorio della Confraternita della Santissima Trinità consists of a single nave.
Near the altar is a 15th century fresco depicting the “Ascension of Mary between Two Holy Martyrs.” The saints are probably Santo Stefano (left) and San Lorenzo.
The altar itself was restored in the 17th century in a Baroque style and is characterized by two columns with stucco angels and (fake) marble decorations.
During this transformation, a fresco was covered with a painting, since disappeared, that depicted the ” Most Holy Trinity.”
Another painting that can no longer be found anywhere is the canvas “Sant’Antonio da Padova worshipping Jesus” by the hand of Domenico Corvi.
On the wall is a large banner painted on both sides by the artist Francesco Ciaci in 1683. On the front, the upper part depicts the “Holy Trinity”. The bottom part shows San Lorenzo referring some members of the Brotherhood, dressed in traditional red, to this Trinity. The reverse side depicts the square outside the church itself, with two saints in adoration next to it and above it a “Madonna with Child and Angels.”
In 1978, works were started to transform the sacristy into a chapel. During the renovation, a rather badly damaged fresco depicting the “Madonna and Child” was dicovered.