Province of Latina travel guide

The province of Latina is located south of Rome and is especially interesting for its beautiful coastline, although inland there are also multiple small but interesting and picturesque hill towns.

Province of Latina travel guide

Where to go

Ponza Harbor - Province of Latina
Ponza harbor

The main cities in the province are Latina (the capital), Gaeta, Roccasecca, Sabaudia, Terracina, Sperlonga and the island of Ponza.

The coastline of Latina is about 100km long and is more or less bounded by two rivers, the Astura (which borders the province of Roma) and the Garigliano (which borders Campania). Beautiful, white beaches are interspersed with cliffs and picturesque rock formations.

The coastal towns in the province of Latina are Latina Lido, Sabaudia, San Felice Circeo, Terracina, Fondi Lido, Sperlonga, Gaeta, Formia and Minturno-Scauri. Ponza is an island just off the coast and is one of the main attractions of the province, especially thanks to its perfectly blue sea. Another popular island is Ventotene.

From Formia, Terracina, San Felice Circeo and Anzio (in the Province of Roma) it is possible to visit by ferry the two groups of islands that lie off the coast. The best known of these is the group to which Ponza, Palmarola, Zannone and Gavi belong. The second group is also of volcanic origin and includes Ventotene and Santo Stefano. Some of these islets are uninhabited.

More than half of the territory of the province of Latina is hilly or even mountainous. Here are the municipalities of Cori, Roccamassima, Norba, Sezze, Lenola, Itri, Sermoneta, Bassiano, Roccagorga, Maenza, Sonnino, Prossedi, Pisterzo, Priverno, Roccasecca dei Volsci, Monte San Biagio, Campodimele, Maranola, Castellonorato, Trivio, Castelforte e SS. Cosma e Damiano and Spigno Saturnia.

Nature reserves in the Province of Latina

  • Parco Nazionale del Circeo (Circeo National Park): This natural park extends over no less than 8000 hectares and includes parts of the territory of the municipalities of Latina, Sabaudia, San Felice Circeo and Ponza (the islet of Zannone).
  • The Parco Regionale dei Monti Ausoni e Lago di Fondi, which is the result of the amalgamation of a number of older natural areas, namely Camposoriano (between Terracina and Sonnino), Tempio di Giove Anxur (Terracina), Lago di Fondi and Mola della Corte-Settecannelle-Capodacqua (Fondi) and Cima del Monte-Acquaviva-Quercia del Monaco.
  • Nature reserve of the Aurunci Mountains (Parco Regionale dei Monti Aurunci).
  • The Parco Regionale della Riviera di Ulisse consists of three interconnected areas, namely Monte Orlando, the Gianola-Monte di Scauri park and the Monumento Naturale Promontorio Villa di Tiberio e Costa Torre Capovento-Punta Cetarola.
  • Riserva Naturale Marina e Terrestre Isola di Ventotene e Santo Stefano
  • Gardens and ruins of Ninfa (Cisterna e Sermoneta)
  • Lago di Giulianello (Cori)
  • Torrecchia Vecchia (Cori e Cisterna di Latina)

There are also a number of small lakes near the coast, including Lake Fogliano and Lake Sabaudia. The coast itself is divided into three stretches, the so called Pianura Pontina, the Pianura Foni-Monte San Biagio and the Garigliano.

Inland, there are three mountain ranges, namely the Monti Lepini, the Monti Ausoni and the Monti Aurunci.

The province also has the hot springs of Suio.

Traveling Latina province by car/public transport

The nearest airports are Rome’s two airports, Ciampino and Fiumicino, and Naples’ Capodichino airport.

From Rome, one drives towards the south. The fastest road is the Autostrada del Sole, which runs more or less along the province. For more leisurely travel, both the Via Appia Nuova (SS7) and Via Pontina (SS148) pass through the province. The SS7 leads mainly through the interior, the SS148 leads along the coast. From Naples you can also follow the Autostrada del Sole or the Via Appia.

The regional train between Rome and Naples stops at the following stations: Cisterna di Latina, Latina, Sezze, Priverno-Fossanova, Monte San Biagio, Fondi-Sperlonga, Itri, Formia and Minturno Scauri. From Rome there is a direct train to Terracina.

Province of Latina, Latium, Italy

Follow by Email