Province of Livorno travel guide

Livorno is one of the ten provinces that make up the region of Tuscany in central Italy. The capital and main municipality of the province of Livorno is Livorno itself. In total, the province consists of no more than 20 cities, some of which are located on the island of Elba.

Province of Livorno travel guide


Fosso Reale Livorno
Livorno’s Fosso Reale

Although it started its existence as no more than a small fishing village, Livorno is the second largest container port on the coast of the Tyrrhenian Sea. The city has about 160 thousand inhabitants. In English, Livorno is generally referred to as “Leghorn”. The most interesting part of the city is a district known as Venezia Nuova.


Bibbona is a municipaliy of approximately three thousand inhabitants along the coast. The historic center is located within the walls of the ancient castle. The oldest church is the Pieve di Sant’Ilario, built in the 11th century. Other attractions include the Palazzo del Comune Vecchio and the Fonte di Bacco.

Campiglia Marittima

Campiglia Marittima is located in the southern part of the province. The city was founded around the 11th century. The main attractions are the Palazzo Pretorio, the Rocca (“Castle”) di Campiglia (with associated museum) and the Madonna di Fucinaia Church.

Campo nell’Elba

Campo nell’Elba consists of a number of merged small towns and even islets. The capital is Marina del Campo. Some of the most beautiful and famous beaches of the island are located in the territory of the town, as well as a number of archaeological sites.


Capoliveri is also located on Elba, on the south side of the island. There is a nice picturesque medieval town center and the main churches are the Santa Maria Assunta Church and the 12th century Pieve di San Michele.

Capraia Isola

Capraia is a small, mountainous island in the Mediterranean Sea. It is situated a bit more than halfway between the mainland and the island of Corsica. There is only one village, Capraia Isola, on the island. Its main attractions are the Forte San Giorgio and the San Nicola Church.

Castagneto Carducci

Castagneto Carducci is named after the chestnut groves in its territory and after the Italian Nobel Prize winner (for literature) Giosué Carducci. Important attractions are the Bolgheri Castle, the Forte di Marina, the Santissimo Crocifisso Church and the Monumental Cemetery of Bolgheri.


Cecina, with almost thirty thousand inhabitants, is one of the larger towns of the province. The territory was inhabited in both Etruscan and Roman times. Sights include the Santi Giuseppe and Leopoldo Church and ruins of a Roman villa from the 1st century.


Collesalvetti is one of the few towns in the province of Livorno without a coastal strip. The first settlements in the territory date back to Etruscan times, but traces of older human life can also be found. Highlights include the Villa Medicea, the Santa Maria Assunta and San Lorenzo Church and the Oasi della Contessa Nature Reserve.


Marciana is a small town on the west side of the island of Elba. A settlement already existed here in Roman times, but the current town was first reported in the early 13th century. Sights include an old Roman shipwreck, the Fortezza Pisana and the Santa Caterina Church.

Marciana Marina

Marciana Marina is located on the north side of Elba and is the smallest municipality in the Tuscany region in terms of area. At the entrance to the small harbor built in 1911 is the Torre degli Appiani. Other interesting buildings are the Santa Chiara Church, the Villa Leonardi and the Villa Anselmi.


Piombino is the southernmost town in the country and also, after the capital, the second largest provincial port. During World War II, the city was bombed multiple times. The Sant’Antimo Cathedral and the Palazzo Comunale are the main attractions.

Porto Azzurro

Porto Azzurro is a small town of less than five thousand inhabitants on the east coast of the island of Elba. North of the town, formerly called Portolongone, there used to be two mines. Attractions include the Santuario della Madonna di Monserrato and the Forte Beneventano.


Portoferraio is the largest municipality on Elba in terms of population. It is here that Jason’s Argonauts were supposed to have come ashore. It used to be known for its steel industry. Its biggest attractions are a number of Etruscan ruins, Roman villas and the Propositura della Natività di Maria Cathedral.

Rio Marina

Most of Rio Marina is located on the east coast of Elba, but the islet of Palmaiola is also part of the municipality. Iron has been mined here since Etruscan times. Attractions are a very old necropolis from the Copper Age and the ruins of the medieval Grassera.

Rio nell’Elba

Rio nell’Elba is one of the smaller municipalities on the island of Elba. It existed as early as the 13th century and has been destroyed and rebuilt many times over the centuries. Sights include the San Giacomo Apostolo Church and the Patreterno and Santissima Trinità Church.

Rosignano Marittimo

Rosignano Marittimo was simply called Rosignano until 1862, a name that probably dates back to Roman times. It is located in the northern part of the province. Attractions include the Santi Giovanni Battista and Ilario Church and the Pasquini Castle (in the municipality of Castiglioncello).

San Vincenzo

San Vincenzo is a coastal town in the southern part of the province. Although already inhabited in prehistoric times, the name was first used in the 13th century. The town is now among the most famous Tuscan coastal resorts. Apart from the beach, the attractions are the Romigliano Natural Park, the Torre di San Vincenzo and the San Vincenzo Ferreri Church.


Sassetta is a small town (500 inhabitants) in the interior of the province. The name was first used in the 12th century and from the 16th century it was for a long time a fiefdom of the Spanish family Ramirez de Montalvo. Attractions are the Palazzo Ramirez de Montalvo and what remains of the former Orlandi Castle.


Suvereto is located immediately south of Sassetta and is one of the most beautiful places in the province of Livorno. It is known for the Val di Cornia Suvereto wine. Attraction are the Rocca Aldobrandesca, the Palazzo Comunale and the Santissima Annunziata Church.

Province of Livorno

All about the Province of Livorno

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *