The former San Tommaso Convent in Perugia is now used as the headquarters for the POST (Perugia Science and Technology Workshop).
San Tommaso Convent Perugia
Address: Via del Melo, 34 – 06122 Perugia. Opening hours and entrance fee: Unknown.
The monastery has existed since the 13th century, first in the hands of the Cistercians and from the 16th century in those of the Dominican nuns.
In 1864 it was appropriated by the Italian state, after which it was considerably modified, although the original cloisters, the portico (the entrance to which is on Via Pinturicchio, 6) and the bell tower can still be seen. The nuns were allowed to go on living there, till 1940, however.
Several works of art had already been removed earlier, in 1810.
POST Science Museum
The church has been secularized. The back of the former monastery now houses the above-mentioned POST, a science museum where visitors can learn to understand natural phenomena in an interactive way.