Santa Maria del Suffragio Church Viterbo
Address, opening hours and ticket price
The address of the Chiesa di Santa Maria del Suffragio is Via del Corso, snc – 01100 Viterbo. Admission is free. Opening hours are not known.
History and description
The Santa Maria del Suffragio Church was built in the 13th century on the ruins of a pre-existing church dedicated to San Quirico.
In 1618 the church became the seat of the Confraternita del Suffragio, thus obtaining its current name. The purpose of this fraternity was to pray for the souls who had ended up in purgatory.
The facade consists of two levels. Above the portal there is a niche with a fresco and stone cupids. The remaining niches are empty, but it can be assumed that they used to contain statues.
The interior consists of a single nave. The presbytery is elevated and was added in the 18th century.
What to see
The oldest works of art preserved in the church were made by the Lanzichenecchi in 1527. These Landsknechte were German mercenary soldiers, who used to form the bulk of the military forces of the Holy Roman Empire between the 15th and 17th centuries.
The painting “The Glory of God the Father between Christ, the Virgin and the Souls of Purgatory” was painted by an anonymous artist (18th century). This huge canvas completely covers the ceiling.
“Daniel between the Lions”, on the vault of the rectory, was painted by the originally Dutch artist Luigi Vanvitelli. The painting is fairly unique, as Vanvitelli (Van Wittel) is known primarily as an architect.
“Madonna with Child and an Angel” (Francesco Maria Bonifazi).
“The Baptism of Christ” (Anton Angelo Bonifazi).
The organ of the church dates back to the 18th century and was made by Raffaele and Domenico Fedeli.