Tuscany travel guide

Tuscany is Italy’s most famous region and a popular vacation destination for both city and nature lovers. The capital of the region, which is further divided into 10 provinces, is Florence. Other beautiful cities in Tuscany are Arezzo, Pisa, Siena and Lucca.

Tuscany travel guide

Provinces of Tuscany

The provinces of Tuscany are the following: Firenze, Arezzo, Grosseto, Livorno, Lucca, Massa, Pisa, Pistoia, Prato and Siena. All provinces are named after their capitals.

Province of Firenze

Piazza del Duomo Florence
Florence Duomo and Baptistery

The province of Florence is actually called Città Metropolitana di Firenze. The capital of the province, which has a total of 42 municipalities, is Florence. Other well-known cities are Scandicci, Sesto Fiorentino and Empoli. Florence is the most centrally located major city in Italy and is therefore an important public transport and road hub.

Province of Siena

Piazza del Campo - Top 10 Bezienswaardigheden Siena
Piazza del Campo (Siena)

The province of Siena is one of the most beautiful provinces in Italy, especially in terms of natural beauty. It is one of the largest provinces in the region in terms of area, but one of the smallest in terms of population. The capital Siena is one of the most beautiful cities in the country. Other nice places are the neighboring San Gimignano, Montepulciano and Pienza.

Province of Arezzo

Piazza Grande Arezzo
Piazza Grande (Arezzo)

Arezzo is the easternmost province of the Tuscany region. The capital of the province is Arezzo itself. The region is crossed by the Arno River and consists of 37 municipalities. Other famous cities are Montevarchi, Cortona and Bibbiena. The province is one of the most beautiful in the country in terms of natural beauty.

Province of Grosseto

The province of Grosseto is the largest province in the region in terms of area. It is the southernmost province of the region and the second smallest in terms of population. The capital of the province is also called Grosseto. The Palazzo Aldobrandeschi currently serves as the provincial seat. The province has a fairly long coastal strip. The Isola del Giglio is the most famous of the islands that make up Grosseto. The most famous natural area is the Maremma.

Province of Pisa

Pisa Cathedral and Leaning Tower

The province of Pisa consists of 39 municipalities, including the capital, which is world famous for the Leaning Tower. The largest cities are Pisa itself, Casciano and San Giuliano Terme. San Miniato is also a major tourist attraction. The province has only a small portion of coastal strip. Most of the western border runs along the province of Livorno.

Province of Livorno

The province of Livorno is largely located on the coast of the Tyrrhenian Sea. Although originally just a small fishing village, the provincial capital Livorno is currently Italy’s second largest container port. In addition to the capital, Piombino is also an important port. The entire province consists of 20 municipalities.

Province of Lucca

The province of Lucca consists of 33 municipalities and is located in the north-western part of the region. The capital is Lucca, which with almost ninety thousand inhabitants is also the largest municipality in the province. Viareggio is the second city and is a famous coastal resort for her wealthier part of the population. With Versilia and Garfagnana, the province boasts two famous natural areas.

Province of Massa-Carrara

The province of Massa-Carrara is the smallest province of Tuscany in terms of population. It is the northernmost province of the region. The largest cities are Massa and Carrara itself. Carrara is famous for its extraordinary white marble which has been used for many famous buildings in Rome, among other places. A large part of the province is occupied by the Alpe Apuane, which is almost two thousand meters high.

Province of Prato

The province of Prato lies immediately west of Florence and is the smallest province in Tuscany in terms of area. Prato consists of only seven municipalities, of which the capital is by far the largest. Of all the provinces in Italy, it is the one with the highest per capita income, which is mainly due to its thriving textile industry. Prati is known for its high number of Chinese immigrants.

Province of Pistoia

Piazza Duomo - Pistoia
Piazza Duomo (Pistoia)

The province of Pistoia is one of the smallest provinces in Italy. The capital and largest city of the province is also called Pistoia. The province consists of no more than 20 municipalities, of which Pescia and Montecatini Terme are the best known except for the capital. Especially the northern part of the province is extremely mountainous.