Province of Viterbo

Cathedral Viterbo

Viterbo is one of the five provinces that make up the region of Latium (Lazio). Its capital is the city of Viterbo itself, which used to be nicknamed the Città dei Papi (“City of the Popes”). The province of Viterbo is often called Tuscia. The province only exists since 1927.

Province of Viterbo

Most Important Cities

The most important cities are, apart from provincial capital Viterbo, Tarquinia, which was one of the most important Etruscan centers, and Orte. Bolsena is mainly known for the lake of the same name and Vetralla is a nice starting point to explore the region, because from here there are direct connections to both Rome, Viterbo itself, and the coast. The province of Viterbo consists of 60 municipalities total.


Piazza San Pellegrino Viterbo
Piazza San Pellegrino

Viterbo is the capital and biggest city in the province. It has a beautiful medieval center with winding, narrow, and sometimes steep alleys. This part of town is further characterized by the many arches and the extremely picturesque external staircases called profferlo. Highlights are the Piazza San Lorenzo with the Duomo and the Palazzo Papale, and the Piazza del Plebiscito with its civic buildings.

Nature reserves Province of Viterbo

The province of Viterbo is very varied, with the rather flat coastal area called the Maremma, the hilly Tuscia and Monte Cimino to the north, and the lakes and rivers, including the Tiber, which forms the border with Umbria, to the east.

Nearly 20% of the province’s surface area is occupied by forests. The biggest and best known lake is the Lago Bolsena, in the north.

Public Transport Province of Viterbo

The main train line is the one between Rome and Viterbo itself. It does not depart from Termini station, but from Ostiense or Tiburtina and travels to Viterbo‘s Porta Romana station. The only other train line from the provincial capital goes to Orte, but from the Porta Fiorentina station.

A second important line is the train that travels along the Lazio coast towards Pisa and stops in Tarquinia.

However, most of its territory is only covered by buses. The name of the company that operates most of these lines is Co.Tral and from Rome most of these buses depart from the Saxa Rubra station on the local Roma Nord train line. It is sometimes necessary to change buses several times, as the small towns in the hills around Viterbo are served only sparsely.

Cities in the Province of Viterbo

Acquapendente | Arlena di Castro| Bagnoregio | Bolsena| Barbarano Romano | Bassano in Teverina | Bassano Romano | Blera | Bolsena | Bomarzo | Calcata | Canepina | Canino | Capodimonte | Capranica | Caprarola | Carbognano | Castel Sant’Elia | Castiglione in Teverina | Celleno | Cellere | Civita Castellana | Civitella d’Agliano | Corchiano | Fabrica di Roma | Faleria | Farnese | Gallese | Gradoli | Graffignano | Grotte di Castro | Ischia di Castro | Latera | Lubriano | Marta | Montalto di Castro | Monte Romano | Montefiascone | Monterosi | Nepi | Onano | Oriolo Romano | Orte | Piansano | Proceno | Ronciglione | San Lorenzo Nuovo | Soriano nel Cimino | Sutri | Tarquinia | Tessennano | Tuscania | Valentano | Vallerano | Vasanello | Vejano | Vetralla | Vignanello | Villa San Giovanni in Tuscia | Viterbo | Vitorchiano.

Province of Viterbo

All about Viterbo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *