Province of Arezzo travel guide

Arezzo is the easternmost province of the Tuscany region. The capital of the province is Arezzo itself. The region is crossed by the Arno River and consists of 37 municipalities. Other interesting cities are Anghiari, Sansepolcro, Cortona and Bibbiena.

Province of Arezzo travel guide

The capital Arezzo

Piazza Grande Arezzo
Piazza Grande

The hill town of Arezzo is the largest city and also the capital of the province. The town has a number of beautiful Romanesque and Gothic churches. The most important are located around the central square of the city, Piazza Grande.


A large part of the province is taken up by the forested area of Casentino. The river Arno has its origin just north of the region and meanders through the forests, monasteries and ancient castles towards Florence and Pisa. The most beautiful and famous towns in this part of the province are Bibbiena and Poppi.


Bibbiena is a small but very picturesque town north of Arezzo and east of Florence. It is characterized by narrow alleys and a multitude of palaces and churches from the medieval and Renaissance periods.


Poppi is a small municipality of just over 6000 inhabitants in the northern part of the province. Its best known attractions are the town’s castle and the abbey in the Camaldoli sub-municipality. The town is counted among the most beautiful municipalities in Italy.

The remaining municipalities in the Casentino are Castel San Niccolò, Capolona, Subbiano, Castel Focognano, Chiusi della Verna, Pratovecchio Stia, Chitignano, Montemignaio, Talla en Soci.

Other cities Arezzo province

Anghiari is located in the eastern part of the province of Arezzo and is an agricultural and industrial center in the area. Like many towns in the area, it has a beautiful medieval center framed by the ancient defensive walls.

Badia Tedalda is located almost on the border with the Marche region. The town began its existence as an abbey.

Bucine | Caprese Michelangelo | Castelfranco Piandiscò | Castiglion Fibocchi | Castiglion Fiorentino | Cavriglia | Civitella in Val di Chiana | Cortona | Foiano della Chiana | Laterina | Loro Ciuffenna | Lucignano | Marciano della Chiana | Monte San Savino | Monterchi | Montevarchi | Ortignano Raggiolo | Pergine Valdarno | Pieve Santo Stefano | San Giovanni Valdarno | Sansepolcro | Sestino | Terranuova Bracciolini

Provincie Arezzo